Skip to main content

Psychology Subject Guide: Websites

Evaluate

Using websites can be tricky. Ask these questions to get a sense for whether the website is reliable:

  • Ask who is responsible for the information.
    Are they qualified to teach you? Why are they providing this information? Does someone take credit for the information by name? Can you contact them if you have questions?
  • Ask whether the information is objective.
    Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
  • Ask how current the information is.
    Is the site dated? Has it been updated recently enough to provide good information? Are there old or out of date links?

Websites

American Psychological Association
Official website of the American Psychological Association. Offers current psychology-related news stories, resources for students, and information on topics from addictions to workplace issues.

Internet Mental Health
Provides mental health information to professionals, students, support groups, and patients and their families. Contains extensive information on the description, treatments, medications, and research of mental disorders.

Mental Help Net
Designed for use by the general public. Contains information on wellness, mental health, family, and relationship issues. Provides various resources and services, such as book reviews, tests and questionnaires, self-help groups, and job information.

National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the Federal Government's principal biomedical and behavioral research agency. NIMH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

PsycPORT
Psychology in the news from the the American Psychological Association.

Psych Central
Provides links to over 1,700 websites reviewed by the author. Each website is briefly described and includes an average rating by site visitors. Psych Central also contains a medication library, psychology articles and news, disorder information, and more.

Psych Crawler
Searches within quality psychology sites. Developed by the American Library Association.

WWW Virtual Library: Psychology
Provides access to websites that cover a wide range of areas within psychology.