Skip to main content

History Subject Guide: Websites

Resources for historical research.

Evaluate

Using websites can be tricky. Ask these questions to get a sense for whether the website is reliable:

  • Ask who is responsible for the information.
    Are they qualified to teach you? Why are they providing this information? Does someone take credit for the information by name? Can you contact them if you have questions?
  • Ask whether the information is objective.
    Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
  • Ask how current the information is.
    Is the site dated? Has it been updated recently enough to provide good information? Are there old or out of date links?

Websites

Ancient and Classical Cultures
Contains links to websites containing information about ancient and classical cultures, including Aztecs, China, Incas, North American prehistory, South America, and more.

Best of History Web Sites
Contains links to over 1,000 web sites that have been evaluated and are considered to be among the best history web sites.  For each web site, there is an annotation describing the site.

History Guide NG
Contains links to history web sites in multiple languages.  Browse by region, time period, or subject era.  Also has a quick search and an advanced search option.

Historical Text Archive
Contains over 600 articles, over 60 ebooks, and links to almost 6,000 web sites dealing with a wide range of topics within the discipline of history.  Emphasis is on primary sources.

History on the web
Portal site for websites dealing with history arranged by region and subject.  Provides brief descriptions for each site.

Librarians' Internet Index

Browse or search this librarian-created web directory of history web sites.

World Wide Web Virtual Library – History
Contains links to a wide range of history sites on the web.  Browse by topic, continent, era, or research methods or search for keywords.