Skip to main content

Sociology Subject Guide: Websites

Evaluate

Ask these questions to get a sense for whether your source is reliable:

  • Ask who is responsible for the information.
    Are they qualified to teach you? What are their qualifications? Do they have a name, and can you contact them? Why are they providing this information?

  • Ask whether the information can be verified.
    Do other sources agree? Are they providing citations so you can follow their research?

  • Ask how current the information is.
    Has the field of research changed significantly since the information was published? Does the research deal with all relevant discoveries or information? If the information is several years old, what holes might exist in the research? Can you fill these holes with other sources?

  • Ask whether the information is objective.
    Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?

Websites

Academic Info: Sociology
Contains links to many websites dealing with a wide range of topics in sociology, including general sociology links, a digital library, internet studies, organizations, and more.

American FactFinder
Provides access to population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the 2000 Census.

SocioSite
Provides links to international sociology websites including topics, journals, libraries, research centers, associations, weblogs, mailing lists, and more.

SocioWeb
Sociology directory organized into sections, such as articles and essays, giants of sociology, online journals and blogs, sociology topics and more.

Social Psychology Network
Contains links to websites dealing with issues related to social psychology.  Also contains a database of over 1,000 social or personality psychologists, which has both a search and browse option.  Other features include discussion forums, links by psychology subject area, links to psychology journals, and more.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Contains summarized statistics on the American population, economy, and political environments. The most recent edition can be found on the Ready Reference shelf (HA202 .S8). Older editions can be located using the Muskingum Library Catalog.