Skip to main content

Gender Studies Subject Guide: Websites

Resources for gender studies research.

Evaluate

Using websites can be tricky. Ask these questions to get a sense for whether the website is reliable:

  • Ask who is responsible for the information.
    Are they qualified to teach you? Why are they providing this information? Does someone take credit for the information by name? Can you contact them if you have questions?
  • Ask whether the information is objective.
    Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
  • Ask how current the information is.
    Is the site dated? Has it been updated recently enough to provide good information? Are there old or out of date links?

Statistical Web Sites

GenderStats
Provides gender statistics by country. Includes statistics about health, labor force, education, and more in relation to gender.

United Nations Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men
This web site provides statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: population, families, health, education, work and politics and human rights.

UNECE Gender Statistics Database
The central database for sex-disaggregated social data. This database provides you with the Common Gender Indicators. Data series are presented in line with the policy areas, which are population, families and households, work and the economy, education, public life and decision making, health, crime and violence.

Women's Studies Websites

Diotima
Resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humorous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.

Early Modern Women Database
useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It focuses on the period from ca. 1500 to ca. 1800 and includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century as well.

Eldis Gender Resource Guide
Dealing primarily with countries south of the equator, this resource provides links to useful gender-related news, websites, country profiles, and more.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

gender Inn
A searchable database providing access to over 8,300 records pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.

Gender, Sexuality, and the Body
The American Studies Web is the largest bibliography of web-based resources in the field of American Studies.

Institute for Women’s Policy Research
A public policy research organization dedicated to informing and stimulating the debate on public policy issues of critical importance to women and their families.

The Men's Bibliography
A comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sensualities.

Other Women's Voices
Contains full text and excerpts from over 125 women writers who wrote before 1700 A.D. in Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

 US Department of Labor Women’s Bureau
The U.S. Department of Labor Women's Bureau, established by Congress in 1920, is the only federal agency mandated to represent working women in the public policy process.

ViVa
A current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Articles published in English, French, German, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish are selected from 175 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Today, the ViVa database contains bibliographic records describing more than eight thousand articles published from 1975 to 2004 in historical and women's studies journals.

Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies
Portal site with links to many academic resources on gender and sexuality studies.

Women's Studies Librarian's Website
Contains a wide variety of information useful to research in women's studies, including a list of websites organized by subject, a list of core books, links to the homepages of magazines and journals, women's organizations, a database of women's studies videos, and more.

Women's Studies Online Resources
Helps you find sites focusing on women's studies or women's issues; women- or gender-related e-mail lists, plus much more.

Women’s Studies Section ACRL
Provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.

Sexuality Web Sites

gltbq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
Searchable and browsable encyclopedia that focuses primarily on gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture as it relates to the arts and literature. Individual entries include bibliographies, citation information, and links to related topics. Also includes a discussion board, an e-mail newsletter, and sections for featured topics and birthdays.

The QRD (Queer Resources Directory)
An electronic library with news clippings, political contact information, newsletters, essays, images, hyperlinks, and every other kind of information resource of interest to the GLBO community. Information is stored for the use of casual network users and serious researchers alike.

TransBiblio Bibliography of Print, AV, and Online Resources
Web site with links to resources on transgendered persons and transgender issues.