Skip to main content

Government Information: Basic Collection Titles

Learn how to search for government information, statistics, and more information about Muskingum's government documents.

Quick Links

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Federal Agency Directory (by Louisiana State University Library)

Core Documents of Our Democracy This collection provides American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens. They support the public's right to know about the essential activities of their Government.

Basic Collection Titles

Resource

Description

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.

 Ben's Guide to U.S. Government 

Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

The CFDA lists all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or use Advanced Search for more options.

Code of Federal Regulations

This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Congressional Directory

The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.

Congressional Record (daily)

The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.

Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents

The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary. 

Economic Indicators

Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.

Economic Report of the President

An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.

FDsys

An online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government.

Federal Register (daily)

The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.

Social Security Handbook

The resource for all Social Security questions.

United States Code

The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.

United States Government Manual

This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.

United States Reports

Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions.

United States Statutes at Large

The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.