Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources
- Add 'sources' to your keyword search in OhioLINK. The subject term for many primary documents uses the word 'sources'. You can also try words like 'letters', 'correspondance, ' 'personal narratives', 'diaries', 'papers', 'journals' or 'oral history'.
- Many museums, libraries, universities and other organizations are digitizing primary sources for scholarly use. Try a google search using 'primary sources' as one of your keywords, or other words such as letters, etc.
- For best results, limit your search to sites hosted by educational institutions (.edu) or the government (.gov). Do this by using Google's advanced search, or just add 'site:.edu' or 'site:.gov' to your search.
- Be careful with online sources - check their 'about us' page to see who they are. Look for citations of the original source.
Over 178,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects.
Hamilton Primary Soures
Alexander Hamilton Papers
A digitized collection of papers by Alexander Hamilton, from the Library of Congress.
American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.
Library of Congress Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This database contains 19th century newspapers from across the United States in both urban and rural settings, emphasizing the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, the Antebellum era, and other subjects.
Slavery And Anti-Slavery
This collection of databases covers the history of slavery and anti-slavery movements via primary source documents. Muskingum has access to four parts of the collection: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery; and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.