Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Started with Your Research
Do you have a topic, but you're not sure where to start? Try a few of these tips!
- Scan your textbook or assigned readings for ideas or for books and articles you can look for.
- Start to write down keywords and related concepts. Think of synonyms that you can use as keywords.
- Consider creating a concept map if you learn best visually. Try Mind42 or MindMeister for some cool online tools, or use Credo Reference's Mind Map function.
- Find background information and use it to find more keywords.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Call Number: REF P 87.5 .E53 2002
Three-volume resource covering many important concepts related to information science, information technologies, interpersonal communication, careers, library science, literacy, and media effects.
International Encyclopedia of Communications
Call Number: REF P 87.5 .15
Four-volume resource covering communication systems, organizations, modes, media, codes, behavior, effects, and important people. Articles are signed by the author.
Les Brown's encyclopedia of television.
Call Number: REF PN 1992. 18 .B7 1992
Provides information on the television industry, including notable people, programs, companies, technological issues, legal issues, the history of television, and more.
Radio: A Reference Guide
Call Number: REF PN 1991.3 .U6 .G73
Provides information on radio networks, drama, music, comedy, sports, organizations, advertising, and more.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Call Number: E-book
Four-volume resource covering key topics related to linguistics, including phonetics, grammar, languages, and more. Also available in print (REF P 29 .I58).
The Handbook of Linguistics
Call Number: REF P 121 .H324 2001
Provides information on topics in linguistics such as languages of the world, writing systems, field linguistics, phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, pragmatics, and discourse.
Sometimes when you're getting started on a topic, all you want is a good overview of the basics. The library has lots of resources to help you get just the facts, fast.
Reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and more can be a great way to get basic information. Try searching our online reference collections below to find great articles on all sorts of topics!
Electronic Book Center - Reference