Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask these questions to get a sense for whether your source is reliable:
- Ask who is responsible for the information.
Are they qualified to teach you? What are their qualifications? Do they have a name, and can you contact them? Why are they providing this information?
- Ask whether the information can be verified.
Do other sources agree? Are they providing citations so you can follow their research?
- Ask how current the information is.
Has the field of research changed significantly since the information was published? Does the research deal with all relevant discoveries or information? If the information is several years old, what holes might exist in the research? Can you fill these holes with other sources?
- Ask whether the information is objective.
Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
Professional Organizations and Research Centers
American Communication Association
Excellent directory that links to a information on communication, including business communication, research methods, gender and communication, mass media and culture, statistical and data archives, and more.
Center for Communication
According to its mission, the Center exposes students “to the issues, the ethics, the people, and the creative product that define the media business.” Particularly useful are the “Media Links” on publications, research, commercial news sites, media analyses, film festivals, and more.
Library Resources for Communication Studies
Collection of resources for the study of communication. The sections most useful to students are the associations and organizations, the special collections, and the subject guides, which provide resources within specific areas of communication studies.
Data and Statistics
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Provides survey results on a wide variety of issues, information from various polls, datasets from the surveys, and current important topics in the news.
Provides information on why specific news stories and opinions surrounding various studies may be misleading or incorrect. Offers facts and figures on studies related to education/family, drug use, health/disease, polls/surveys, gender issues, crime, defense, and media factoids.
Center for Nonverbal Studies
Contains information on nonverbal communication. Also offers a dictionary of nonverbal communication terminology.