Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Started with Your Research
Do you have a topic, but you're not sure where to start? Try a few of these tips!
- Scan your textbook or assigned readings for ideas or for books and articles you can look for.
- Start to write down keywords and related concepts. Think of synonyms that you can use as keywords.
- Consider creating a concept map if you learn best visually. Try Mind42 or MindMeister for some cool online tools, or use Credo Reference's Mind Map function.
- Find background information and use it to find more keywords.
Encyclopedia of religion
Call Number: REF BL31 .E46 2005
Extensive fifteen-volume encyclopedia covering many topics, terms, and people related to the many religions of the world. Updated from the first edition published in 1987, it contains over 1,000 new articles.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
Call Number: Online
This web based encyclopedia contains articles that look at the intersection of religion and society. Articles include the different theoretical traditions and research styles that have emerged over the century. Although more heavily oriented toward North America, the scope is global, and an effort has been made to address the major traditions of world religious experience.
Sometimes when you're getting started on a topic, all you want is a good overview of the basics. The library has lots of resources to help you get just the facts, fast.
Reference books like encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and more can be a great way to get basic information. Try searching our online reference collections below to find great articles on all sorts of topics!
Electronic Book Center - Reference