Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 121: Composition Course Guide - Wells: Finding Articles

Course guide for Wells' Composition.

Subject Guides

Scholarly Articles

Tip: Check the 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals' box before your search to limit it to scholarly articles.

Tip: Use truncation to get more results - try a search for femin* to retrieve results on feminism and feminists, or educat* to get results for education, educational, and educators.

Tip: Just because you're in an English class doesn't mean you should stick to English Literature databases.  Browse the categories provided below for appropriate databases.

Tip: This is not an exhaustive list of subject databases.  For more complete listings, see the individual subject guides for your subject.

Find a Journal

Do you know the journal your article appears in? Look for it online here!

Find journals, newspapers, and magazines by title or ISSN

Find an Article

  • Already have an article citation? Use OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup to see if we own it!

  • Look for the words 'Full Text' to get the whole article. If the article isn't attached, use the yellow FindIt! button to see if we own it.

  • Still can't find the article you want? Fill out an article request form and we'll see if we can find it for you somewhere else. Be aware that requests can take up to a week.

Choosing a Database

Just because you're in an English class doesn't mean you should stick to English Literature databases.  Think about your topic: is it about education? Does it touch on political issues? Does it concern some aspect of society?

Browse the categories provided below for appropriate databases. Your topic might fit into more than one subject - no problem! Look at databases from both!

This is not an exhaustive list of subject databases.  For more complete listings, see the individual subject guides for your subject.

General Databases

These databases have a little information on a variety of subjects - they're good places to start if you're having trouble figuring out where to look for information.

Education Databases

Sociology Databases

Political Databases

Science Databases

Music, Art & Literature Databases

Sports Database