Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find an Article
Look for the one of our full text buttons to get the whole article.
Still can't find the article you want? Fill out an
article request form and we'll see if we can find it for you somewhere else. Be aware that requests can take up to a week.
Find a Specific Journal
Do you know the journal your article appears in? Look for it online here!
Advanced Searching Tools
Tricks for Database Searching
Truncation: use the * symbol to get various words that may begin the same. Examples: teen*, identit*, advertis*
Wild card: for similar words where a letter may be different. Example: searching "wom?n" will return results with woman and women.
Quotation marks: use to find an exact phrase, like "social media" or "interpersonal communication".
Use Boolean Operators
AND: find BOTH terms. Only articles with both terms will be returned.
OR: find one or the other. This is useful for finding similar terms. Ex: young adult OR teen
and OR to create more specific searches.
(adolescent OR teen* OR "young adult") AND "social media"
Use Subject Headings
While searching in EBSCO databases, take a look at the predicted text that shows up under what you're typing in. It may provide alternative terms for what you're looking for, leading to more results.
On the detailed records of sources you like, look at the subjects provided by the publisher/authors/database. You can click on these to start new searches under the same subjects.
Articles & Databases
Library databases index articles which are published in scholarly journals, newspapers, and magazines. You can use these databases to find out what articles exist and where they were published.
Biological Abstracts help document: ( external link)
Index and abstracts to articles on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
Biosis Previews (including Biological Abstracts)
Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.
Digital archive of scholarly publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science)
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences.
Index and abstracts of journal articles in health sciences/medicine using the EBSCO search interface.
Index and abstracts of journal articles in health sciences/medicine using the National Library of Medicine's PubMed search interface with LinkOut to OhioLINK full-text enabled.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Information on the conventional, herbal, and alternative therapies that can be used to treat over 180 conditions. Also includes plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for 75 drug categories.
Many of the following resources are available to Muskingum students via subscription. They are excluded from the database list because they include media other than books and journals.