Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find an Article
Look for the one of our full text buttons to get the whole article.
Still can't find the article you want? Fill out an
article request form and we'll see if we can find it for you somewhere else. Be aware that requests can take up to a week.
Find a Specific Journal
Do you know the journal your article appears in? Look for it online here!
Use the databases below to find scholarly articles.
Tip: Check the 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals' box before your search to limit it to scholarly articles.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
RISM Online Catalog of Musical Sources
An open access and ongoing project to index music located all over the world. Some entries have digitized copies of the music, but many merely have the library or archive holding the piece.
Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text articles from over 5,000 periodicals, including 4,000 scholarly journals covering all academic areas.
Advanced Searching Tools
Tricks for Database Searching
Truncation: use the * symbol to get various words that may begin the same. Examples: teen*, identit*, advertis*
Wild card: for similar words where a letter may be different. Example: searching "wom?n" will return results with woman and women.
Quotation marks: use to find an exact phrase, like "social media" or "interpersonal communication".
Use Boolean Operators
AND: find BOTH terms. Only articles with both terms will be returned.
OR: find one or the other. This is useful for finding similar terms. Ex: young adult OR teen
and OR to create more specific searches.
(adolescent OR teen* OR "young adult") AND "social media"
Use Subject Headings
While searching in EBSCO databases, take a look at the predicted text that shows up under what you're typing in. It may provide alternative terms for what you're looking for, leading to more results.
On the detailed records of sources you like, look at the subjects provided by the publisher/authors/database. You can click on these to start new searches under the same subjects.