Skip to main content
Muskingum University Library
PHEN 300 - Research guide
Search this Guide
PHEN 300 - Research guide: Finding articles
How to read an academic article
Do you have a topic, but you're not sure where to start? Try a few of these tips!
Scan your textbook or assigned readings for ideas or for books and articles you can look for.
Start to write down keywords and related concepts. Think of synonyms that you can use as keywords.
Consider creating a
if you learn best visually. Try
for some cool online tools.
Find background information and use it to find more keywords.
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text articles from over 5,000 periodicals, including 4,000 scholarly journals covering all academic areas.
Need help using this database? Try a
(Note: although the tutorial has sound, it is also closed-captioned and can be used without audio).
CaltechAUTHORS contains research publications by Caltech faculty and other Caltech researchers. Many are research papers, but other materials include conference papers and the full-text of books.
Index and abstracts to engineering literature from international journals, conferences, and reports.
Web of Science (ISI)
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
World Academy of Science, Engineering & Technology Publications
Full-text of publications provided by WASET.
Credo Reference - Background Information
Credo Reference - Mind Map
Evaluating Sources >>
Jul 1, 2020 9:20 AM
Login to LibApps
Course Guide Archive