Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources
- Add 'sources' to your keyword search in OhioLINK. The subject term for many primary documents uses the word 'sources'. You can also try words like 'letters', 'correspondance, ' 'personal narratives', 'diaries', 'papers', 'journals' or 'oral history'.
- Many museums, libraries, universities and other organizations are digitizing primary sources for scholarly use. Try a google search using 'primary sources' as one of your keywords, or other words such as letters, etc.
- For best results, limit your search to sites hosted by educational institutions (.edu) or the government (.gov). Do this by using Google's advanced search, or just add 'site:.edu' or 'site:.gov' to your search.
- Be careful with online sources - check their 'about us' page to see who they are. Look for citations of the original source.
Library of Congress Collections
The Library of Congress provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. [ more information
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
from the Library of Congress is a collection of many American newspapers printed from 1900-1910. [ more information
Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative facts of American history. Topics range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America.
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
National Security Archives
Archive of declassified U.S. documents from the federal government, with collections organized by events.
Slavery And Anti-Slavery
This collection of databases covers the history of slavery and anti-slavery movements via primary source documents. Muskingum has access to four parts of the collection: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery; and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities
A collection of primary source documents covering the history of the women's rights movement throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.
American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
Library of Congress Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
New York Times TimesMachine
Search New York Times articles up to 2002. Full text available on microfilm.
Vietnam Center and Archive
Millions of pages of material and tens of thousands of photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
"A treasure of sources supporting LGBTQ research," the Archives of Sexuality and Gender research connects users with rare and unique primary source documents of the history of the LGBTQ movement.
Alexander Hamilton Papers
A digitized collection of papers by Alexander Hamilton, from the Library of Congress.
National Archives: The Atomic Bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki
The National Archives and Records Administrations maintains the documents that trace the evolution of the project to develop the bombs, to their use in 1945 and the aftermath.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This database contains 19th century newspapers from across the United States in both urban and rural settings, emphasizing the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, the Antebellum era, and other subjects.