One of the best ways to get general information about a topic is to find a news article on it. Use the following resources to find newspaper and magazine articles on a variety of subjects.
Start with the databases available to you through Muskingum University:
On the left side of the Library's website, click on "Databases." You'll see this image, with the alphabet below it:
If you already know the name of the database you should use, click on the letter appropriate to the first letter of the database and scroll until you find the one you want.
If you don't know which database(s) to use, the "All Database Types" pull-down menu is very helpful. Using that pull-down menu, look for "News" and click on it. Many news resources are now available to you. For a good search of resources, you should never limit yourself to just one database if multiple databases are suggested. Each database has a short description--reading that will help you decide which databases you might need to use.
If you're using Academic Search Complete, once you've done your search you can limit your results to newspapers and magazines. On the left side of the page, under "Source Types," click the box for the source(s) you want to use.
Muskingum students and faculty members have access to all aspects of the New York Times, including their complete archives.
For more information, including how to access the New York Times through our campus subscription, go to the New York Times Access Libguide.
There's a lot of news on the internet - and it can be hard to tell what's legit and what's not. Let these searches help you by searching only news sources, not the whole internet.