Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask these questions to get a sense for whether your source is reliable:
- Ask who is responsible for the information.
Are they qualified to teach you? What are their qualifications? Do they have a name, and can you contact them? Why are they providing this information?
- Ask whether the information can be verified.
Do other sources agree? Are they providing citations so you can follow their research?
- Ask how current the information is.
Has the field of research changed significantly since the information was published? Does the research deal with all relevant discoveries or information? If the information is several years old, what holes might exist in the research? Can you fill these holes with other sources?
- Ask whether the information is objective.
Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
American Institute of Graphic Arts
The professional association for design, is committed to furthering excellence in design as a broadly-defined discipline, strategic tool for business and cultural force.
Provides basic biographical information and images of the artwork of 8,100 artists. Includes painting, sculpture, photography, folk art, decorative arts, video and digital art, installation art, and architecture.
ArtsEdge: The National Arts and Education Network
Aimed at helping K-12 teachers integrate art into other disciplines. Offers teaching materials, professional development resources, and guidelines for instruction
A collection of over 16,000 images including prints spanning the 15th to 19th centuries as well as architecture and sculpture primarily from the Mediterranean Basin
Graphic Arts Information Network
Provides information for graphic arts from government affairs to human relations to special interest groups
North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts
Excellent resource for art education. Contains links to curriculum resources, art and education websites, museum links, and more.
Museum of Modern Art - Digital Exhibition Archive
The free digital exhibition archive spans from the museum’s very first exhibition—a showcase of post-Impressionist artwork—to recent installations, such as Picasso Sculptures and Jackson Pollock: A Collection Survey, 1934–1954. The collection even includes the MoMA’s cinema series, which highlights important film movements and directors.