Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conservation Science Subject Guide: Websites

Resources for research in Conversation Science

Evaluate

Using websites can be tricky. Ask these questions to get a sense for whether the website is reliable:

  • Ask who is responsible for the information.
    Are they qualified to teach you? Why are they providing this information? Does someone take credit for the information by name? Can you contact them if you have questions?
  • Ask whether the information is objective.
    Does it present both sides of an issue? Is it designed to persuade you? Does anything about the information seem fishy?
  • Ask how current the information is.
    Is the site dated? Has it been updated recently enough to provide good information? Are there old or out of date links?

Websites

Digital Library of the Commons
Contains full-text research papers dealing with commons research, which includes such areas of study as agriculture, forest resources, water resources, wildlife, and much more.

Institute of Global Environment and Society
Contains research, publications, and links to information on weather, climate, water, ocean, land, atmosphere, and more.

National Library for the Environment
Contains the full text of over 1500 Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports that address environmental issues.  Also contains environmental laws and treaties, educational resources, environmental news, and more.

NatureServe
Provides information about conservation and detailed local information on plants, animals, and ecosystems.  Covers the U.S., Canada, Latin American, and the Caribbean.

Science.gov
Provides links to websites (many of which are government websites) dealing with Energy & Energy Conservation, Environment & Environmental Quality, Natural Resources & Conservation, and more.

U.S. Geological Survey
The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.

Zero Waste America
Contains information on reducing waste in America and links to websites dealing with disposal and recycling.