The Library of Congress provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. [ more information ]
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
This collection of databases covers the history of slavery and anti-slavery movements via primary source documents. Muskingum has access to four parts of the collection: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery; and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Millions of pages of material and tens of thousands of photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia.
"A treasure of sources supporting LGBTQ research," the Archives of Sexuality and Gender research connects users with rare and unique primary source documents of the history of the LGBTQ movement.
The National Archives and Records Administrations maintains the documents that trace the evolution of the project to develop the bombs, to their use in 1945 and the aftermath.
This database contains 19th century newspapers from across the United States in both urban and rural settings, emphasizing the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, the Antebellum era, and other subjects.
Contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Focuses include the Cold War International History Project, the North Korea International Documentation Project, and the Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
Medical Officer of Health reports for London 1848-1972, providing statistical data about births, deaths and diseases, while also allowing the authors to express their own personal interests.
Over 150 years of military medicine and wartime experiences are covered in the Royal Army Medical Corps digitised archive. More than 130,000 digitised pages of correspondence, reports, personal field diaries, memoirs, photographs and memorabilia given to the RAMC Museum and Archive (now the Army Medical Services Museum Trust) by former officers and men of the Corps.
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.
The project comprises ten sections, each of which addresses a discrete period in Germany's history. Each section addresses the following subjects: Government and Administration; Parties and Organizations; Military and War; Economy and Labor; Nature and Environment; Gender, Family, and Generations; Region, City, and Countryside; Religion; Literature, Art, and Music; Elite and Popular Cultures; and Science and Education.
The German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material.
Contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Focuses include the Cold War International History Project, the North Korea International Documentation Project, and the Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
Cuban Heritage Collection digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.
Contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Focuses include the Cold War International History Project, the North Korea International Documentation Project, and the Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
