The Project collects first-hand accounts of U.S. Veterans from the following wars:
World War I (1914-1920) World War II (1939-1946) Korean War (1950-1955) Vietnam War (1961-1975) Persian Gulf War (1990-1995) Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts (2001-present)
A collection of Alan Turing's letters, talks, photographs and unpublished papers, as well as memoirs and obituaries written about him. It contains images of the original documents that are held in the Turing collection at King's College, Cambridge
Medical Officer of Health reports for London 1848-1972, providing statistical data about births, deaths and diseases, while also allowing the authors to express their own personal interests.
Over 150 years of military medicine and wartime experiences are covered in the Royal Army Medical Corps digitised archive. More than 130,000 digitised pages of correspondence, reports, personal field diaries, memoirs, photographs and memorabilia given to the RAMC Museum and Archive (now the Army Medical Services Museum Trust) by former officers and men of the Corps.
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.
The project comprises ten sections, each of which addresses a discrete period in Germany's history. Each section addresses the following subjects: Government and Administration; Parties and Organizations; Military and War; Economy and Labor; Nature and Environment; Gender, Family, and Generations; Region, City, and Countryside; Religion; Literature, Art, and Music; Elite and Popular Cultures; and Science and Education.
Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn.
The National Archives and Records Administrations maintains the documents that trace the evolution of the project to develop the bombs, to their use in 1945 and the aftermath.
A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Focuses include the Cold War International History Project, the North Korea International Documentation Project, and the Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
Electronic data records from the National Archives that pertain to civil rights in the United States, including data related to affirmative action, discriminatory practices, sexual harassment, and the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia,
Provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Sponsored by the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
This collection of databases covers the history of slavery and anti-slavery movements via primary source documents. Muskingum has access to four parts of the collection: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: The Institution of Slavery; and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
This database contains 19th century newspapers from across the United States in both urban and rural settings, emphasizing the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, the Antebellum era, and other subjects.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction.
The Project collects first-hand accounts of
U.S. Veterans from the following wars:
World War I (1914-1920)
World War II (1939-1946)
Korean War (1950-1955)
Vietnam War (1961-1975)
Persian Gulf War (1990-1995)
Afghanistan and Iraq conflicts (2001-present)
Millions of pages of material and tens of thousands of photographs, slides, maps, periodicals, audio, moving images, and books related to the Vietnam War, Indochina, and the impact of the war on the United States and Southeast Asia.
Contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. Focuses include the Cold War International History Project, the North Korea International Documentation Project, and the Nuclear Proliferation International History Project.
"A treasure of sources supporting LGBTQ research," the Archives of Sexuality and Gender research connects users with rare and unique primary source documents of the history of the LGBTQ movement.
The Southern Music Survey was published weekly from 1963 to 1966. It was a radio airplay tip-sheet that tracked trends and popularity of popular music being broadcast on radio stations throughout the Southeast.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
