Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Primary Sources
- Add 'sources' to your keyword search in OhioLINK. The subject term for many primary documents uses the word 'sources'. You can also try words like 'letters', 'correspondance, ' 'personal narratives', 'diaries', 'papers', 'journals' or 'oral history'.
- Many museums, libraries, universities and other organizations are digitizing primary sources for scholarly use. Try a google search using 'primary sources' as one of your keywords, or other words such as letters, etc.
- For best results, limit your search to sites hosted by educational institutions (.edu) or the government (.gov). Do this by using Google's advanced search, or just add 'site:.edu' or 'site:.gov' to your search.
- Be careful with online sources - check their 'about us' page to see who they are. Look for citations of the original source.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered issues.
Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
"A treasure of sources supporting LGBTQ research," the Archives of Sexuality and Gender research connects users with rare and unique primary source documents of the history of the LGBTQ movement.
WWII at the Avalon Project - Yale
Primary documents in law, history, and diplomacy.
Primary sources on American history from 1754 to the present, from the Foundation for the National Archives.
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities
A collection of primary source documents covering the history of the women's rights movement throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.
Southern Music Survey
The Southern Music Survey was published weekly from 1963 to 1966. It was a radio airplay tip-sheet that tracked trends and popularity of popular music being broadcast on radio stations throughout the Southeast.